top of page

Completion of song 2 "unpredictable", original song of my own.

Our second song we had worked on started with an intro/verse i had wrote at home. I remember the band agreeing we needed a slower song in our setlist so i sat at home with my guitar with the intention of writing one. I listen to a lot of blues music and especially B.B King which is a big influence for me and my guitar playing.

I just started playing around with chords when i started with an Fminor7 and decided it was what i wanted to build the foundation of the song on. The songs structure follows basic 12 bar blues with a slow tempo of about 75bpm.

I brought my idea into the band and everybody liked the groove to it and agreed to work on it. As the weeks went on I would finish writing the chorus and middle eight to the the track completing it. Whilst we practiced running through the song we had a discussion on whether to change the tempo of the chorus to make it a bit fast to 90bpm, to suprise funk it up a little. Initially I had no intention of doing so and wanted to keep the same tempo consistantly through out the track.

After some debate in the band we sped up the tempo of the chorus. I didn't have a problem with doing so, however for personal preferance I would have kept it the same.

Once this was decided we added in a guitar solo to the song and decided on finishing the song with the bridge.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page