top of page

Review of my guitar playing as of late.

Whenever I have played guitar in the past, no matter what skill level I reach I always feel as If i'm not that good and so the lack of confidence would show through my playing. I would focus on the fact that because there are others who can play at a level higher than myself, my skills are made obsolete in a sense.

I would say my main weakness has never been a technical issue, such as fluidity in my playing, but it has been the lack of confidence would affect my strengths. This is the main thing I believe is holding me back from being a much better player. Through playing with others and getting that experience would be the thing I need to really feel as if i can feel validated with myself about my playing.

While it's good to always constantly look towards the next step in trying to improve, I would gloss over what I can already do myself and ignore it almost. But recently I've become confident with my playing. I used to not be able to play in front of people i didn't know, and if i did, the lack of of confidence in myself would cause me to mess up playing simple songs that I would never do, had I been playing by myself. Since I started college I feel very comfortable and confident with playing. While I haven't played on a stage and performed with a band yet, I have jammed around with a few people and we've musically clicked very quickly. We could read the other in terms of what to play, when to play, and how to play, which is a great thing to be able to do. Especially since I didn't know these people at all, yet we were able to play together as If we've known eachother for a while.

Being at college with so many others who have the same interest as myself, really makes me feel comfortable with playing. The confidence I have at the moment playing is the first time I have felt like this about my playing, and i'm looking forward to build on that even more.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page